The Parish Church of West Wittering dates back to the 11th-13th centuries, (and renovated in the 19th)
though it is likely there has been a place of worship here for 1200 years, as it is home to a Saxon Stone cross dating back to the 8th century.
The finely tuned bells ring out in harmony, drawing the local and visiting congregation.
St Peter’s was built in 1938 and celebrated its first mass in 1939, just before WWII. It has disabled access and mass is held several times a week. It was consecrated by Bishop Kieran Conroy in 2006. Also built in 2006 is the charming Marian Garden.
St Anne’s Church in East Wittering was built in the 1950s, having replaced the 12th Century Church of the Assumption of St Mary the Virgin, which is situated further out of the village. It was consecrated in 1959 by the Bishop of Chichester.
The church it replaced, the Church of the Assumption of St Mary the Virgin on Church Farm Lane, was declared redundant in 1983. It was originally built in the early 12th century, and then underwent major restoration in 1875. Some of the stone used is from Caen, France, which was also used in the building of Canterbury Cathedral, Westminster Abbey and the Tower of London. It is now a listed building.